top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarta

Life without a 9-5 job

Updated: Jul 23, 2019


Statistically speaking most people in westernised countries have a 'proper' job. They wake up every day and do the same thing in the same location. We do not. Do you wanna find out more about life without a 9-5 job? Let's do it!


When I met L, I had just given up my 9-5 job, had no place to live, nor any plan. The only thing I knew was that I wanted a different life.


For the past 10 years L had been running his own company and definitely was not living the 9-5 life. When we joined forces and started living together, I was still working part-time in a cocktail bar but I had to give that job up as we moved from London to the countryside. I spent several weeks looking for a new position but I was not successful. At that point I thought that the failure must be a sign to encourage me to do something that I have always wanted to do - not to be bound with a permanent job and be free.


Soon after we moved in together I started helping L with all the admin work and looking for new clients for his company. I was also doing many ad-hoc jobs like working in the coffee shops, babysitting, temporary office jobs, packing people's houses, cleaning and so on. I am not ashamed to admit that it was not exactly my 'dream come true' job setting but it did not matter. I have learnt that the only thing that separates you from happiness, is your attitude. I have worked hard and made my life much happier. In the process I have realised I can work whenever I wanted to or when I needed the money.


The past 4 years have been hard but the happiest years of my life. We took many days off and travelled all over Europe, which is my dream come true! There were months that we were struggling big time, there were tears and anger and disappointment but we never blamed each other. We have always been such a good team and even when the times were rough we kept strong and kept fighting to make it better.


I know many people who say that they would never be able to live a life that we do (our company offer logistics which means we spent a lot of time on a road). Many have said that it is too stressful not knowing what the next day will bring. I absolutely love it! There are days that we shut the world out and just sit in our garden by the fireplace and enjoy it. There are days that we are desperate and looking for as many jobs as we can take to make the ends meet. Leaving 9-5 security can be harsh but I think it gives you the ultimate freedom. Only if you can learn to truly enjoy it! When we have empty days in the calendar we are just happy to have a day off, because we know, when the time comes we will be working like mad.


There are many disadvantages of living as we do, i.e. we always have to answer the phone. No matter where we are. When we go on holidays, see family etc, we always have to have a phone on us. There were only a couple of occasions that we switched the phone off or lost in the ocean :D

I think the most important thing is to find a balance. We do not talk about work in bed or with the family. We make sure we enjoy the work we do and make our clients happy.


I think no matter where life leads us as a couple, we will never choose a job where the schedule & dress code is required. I can honestly say that every time I get an assignment for a temporary office role - I am just bored to tears. The only positive is meeting new people and making new friends!


If you are thinking of giving up a 9-5 job, I have to tell you - it is a hardship, but if you think you have the right attitude and want to enjoy your life to the fullest - go for it! Who knows what kind of adventure is awaiting you? ;)



16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page